best chess software

Best Chess Software

Classify and you will discover!
Funny name, real interests
[ Sign up | Log in | Guest ] (beta)
phaedo 41 ( +1 | -1 )
Stalemate I thought I saw a rules section on this site but can't
seem to find it. What are the rules for stalemate? I
recall that when the only move possible is one which
moves into check is a stalemate, making the same
move a certain number of times is a stalemate and a
certain number of moves after the king is the only
piece on the board. Could someone help with the
specifics?
philaretus 55 ( +1 | -1 )
Stalemate occurs.... .....when the player on move is not in check but has no legal move.

The other two cases you mention are not stalemate:

Draw by repetition --- If the same position occurs three times with the same player on move (not necessarily consecutive times), then either player may claim a draw.

"The 50-move rule" --- If 50 moves have elapsed without either a pawn move or a capture, then again either player may claim a draw.

In stalemate the draw is automatic. In the other cases, they can go on playing if neither claims a draw.
phaedo 23 ( +1 | -1 )
Thanks. Could you elaborate on the draw by repetition? By
same position, does this mean all pieces on the
board are in the same position? Also, on this site, to
claim a draw, does one go about it the same way as
offering a draw?
victord 8 ( +1 | -1 )
...---... You can offer a draw at any time. I usually do when I'm a Queen down in the endgame. ;-)
philaretus 46 ( +1 | -1 )
phaedo Yes, as you said, everything in the same position.

On GameKnot, if a threefold repetition occurs, a message will appear asking you whether you want to claim a draw. I think the same is the case with a draw by insufficient material. I'm not sure whether Mike has implemented the 50-move rule: it may be that you would have to ask him for a draw. (This question was discussed some time ago on the forum, but I've forgotten the outcome).

As victord said, you can agree on a draw at any time.
alar 21 ( +1 | -1 )
Someone knows if you can claim the draw by repeticion only when is on the board?
I mean: If you notice it after, you still can claim the draw?
OTB not allways is easy to notice the third repeticion specially when time expires.
brunetti 25 ( +1 | -1 )
No You can claim the draw only immediately after the repetition has been happened, or immediately before making a move that will produce the third repetition. It's not possible to claim the draw later. This is a rule of chess.

Alex